It’s been more than a month since my last post.

Right off the bat, I can’t begin to describe just how profoundly different our lives have been since the ruling that granted recognition of our marriage in NY state came out on February 1. We used to be real homebodies, hanging out just at our own home, tending our gardens or, in colder weather, fixing or remodeling something in the house.

Those days are gone. We’ve been to protests, rallies, parades, speeches, awards dinners, conventions, and so on. We’re trying to strike some balance and try to still keep some time for us. It hasn’t been easy and I find that we are short with each other a lot these days. I think that I’ve become resentful of Lisa’s passivity where drumming up business for her(our) company is concerned. I’ve been hit especially hard at work with large projects that have taken inordinate amounts of time and tedious work to complete. We’re barely hanging on by the thinnest thread financially. I’m stressed and I just don’t have the muse to write these days.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

We had a great time in Colorado. My young grandson, Brandon, said “You’re the only Grandma that jumps on the trampoline with me!” I replied “That’s because I have better health insurance than your other Grandmas.”

We helped the kids put in a new patio made from molds. My SIL rented a cement mixer for the weekend and we spent two days filling molds, smoothing concrete and shoveling pea gravel to fill the spaces between stones.

It was quality time, well spent with both Linda and Brandon. While Brandon and Lisa prepped the area for the patio, Linda and I went to the store and got plants — lots of plants. Then Linda and I went around their back yard and planted — more than two dozen perennials. Little Brandon helped out and we just had a great time. I was impressed with Linda’s grit and determination in everything that we undertook. She’s always known what she wants, and has always been able to determine what it takes to have what she wants. And she works hard for it.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

We went to Invesco Field at Mile High Stadium — the mecca for Denver Broncos fans. We went on a Monday and found that just that weekend they’d had their “Fan fair.” To add insult to injury, tours are only Tuesday through Friday. We went inside the fan shop and spent some money, goofed around outside mugging for pictures, and went home. I was satisfied just being there. Cheap date, eh?

I’m so proud of my daughter and her husband, for all they’ve accomplished at such a young age. They’ve got a great home, good jobs, and have done a great job so far with the kids. But, the thing that thrilled me the most was when Lisa told me that my SIL confided in her that Linda constantly says “I don’t know how my Mom did it with three kids alone!”

While we were in Colorado, the Alliance Defense Fund filed a lawsuit against NY Governor David Paterson with regard to the memo he sent to state agencies ordering them to identify what they need to do to bring themselves into compliance with our ruling and, if there are any legal impediments, to inform him of them by the end of June. All hell broke loose here at the end of May when the media learned of this memo that had been sent out in mid-May. In fact, at the Empire State Pride Agenda Spring Dinner and awards dinner, a 5 minute video message by the governor revealed that he had ordered state agencies to bring themselves into compliance.
ADF claims that the governor circumvented the legislature and political opponents of the governor (and marriage equality) accuse him of creating his own law without the benefit of ballot initiative or legislative action. It never ceased to amaze me that these people clearly don’t READ things like the governor’s memo — they skim headlines and let others tell them what happened. Were Republican Senators (for example) who got in on the lawsuit to have actually READ the memo, they’d realize that Paterson is merely doing his job. If they need to “blame” someone, they need to blame themselves and their (now resigned) majority leader.
Same sex marriage legislation passed the assembly this year but, when it was sent to the Senate for action, the majority leader, Joe Bruno (R) called the bill “Dead on arrival” and wouldn’t even send it to the floor for discussion. The court that ruled in our favor was complying with century-old NY State law and Paterson was complying with the court’s ruling. It’s simple, really.
But, since then Joe Bruno has resigned as the majority leader and has announced that he will retire t the end of this year. I’m hearing rumors that it may be that he made a deal with the devil (in this case, the Feds) to retire in lieu of an indictment based on the investigation by the Federal government into his outside business practices.
There has also been a lot of hoopla surrounding the appointment of a new President at my place of employment. It’s been a debacle laced with political patronage, self-serving pandering, and egomania. In the end, SUNY send the Board some names to choose from for an interim president. I’ve been involved in the rallies and pickets for this issue as

So, yeah, I’m alive and currently on vacation (again) but this time staying home and getting some projects done around the house.

I figure I’ll catch up in smaller posts, on each individual item.

