rainbow.gif

It’s funny. Not ha-ha funny, but funny in a weird sort of way.

All morning long, while getting ready for work, my mind wanders all over the place.  I think of something while I’m showering, and think “I’ll add that to my blog today.”  Something else comes to mind while I’m brushing my teeth and I think “I’ll add that to my blog today.”  But when I sit down to blog, my mind echoes with emptiness.  It’s the world I have lived in for most of my life — one of forgetfulness. 

I often forget, right in the middle of a sentence, where I was going with what I was saying.  I jokingly call it MENTALpause, but sometimes I worry.

Anyway, where was I?

rainbow.gif

The hoopla still hasn’t ended.  I commented recently that I’m sure I’m developing a real “deer in the headlights” kind of look these days.  I’m still stunned by the enormity of what has happened and amazed at the number of people who want interviews or comments.

There’s a real interest in the community wedding reception that a group of us are planning.  I think it would be so cool to have it broadcast NATIONALLY to the gay and lesbian community, for starters.  It would give them hope, I think.  And maybe it can put a face on the people involved, and an image of love and commitment for those who can’t wrap their brains around it.

The other thing that absolutely amazes me is the response of employers around this area.  One couple applied for spousal benefits and were refused, with the employer saying they would “…wait until it becomes law.”  Another, at another local community college, was refused, being told that because the county is appealing (and we’ve heard NOTHING on an appeal) they “…don’t have to honor it.”

My lawyer’s paralegal is astounded by these responses.  So am I.  This is the same thing as “Buffet Christianity” except it’s “Cafeteria Law Compliance.”  Were I to say “I think I’m going to hold off paying my taxes because I’m sure someone will appeal the tax law,” we all know that it would be like trying to fill a colander with water to the top.  That argument has so many holes, it’s impossible to lend any credence to those people who are making these decisions.  And, here’s the question.  Are they shooting from the hip when they make these decisions, or are they consulting their legal department?  If they’re consulting their legal department, I’d have to wonder what mail-order school their law department got their education(s) from.

At my suggestion, the community college professor called my lawyer and, from what I understand, will be asking for a letter to be written to his employer.

rainbow.gif

This morning, on the radio show I listen to, they were asking for people to call in with what they think are the worse, sappy, crappy love songs, in honor of Valentine’s Day.

They had a lot of calls and then they decided to play some of those songs.  That’s how I ended up with Debbie Boone’s You Light Up My Life bouncing around in my brain today.  I wonder if you can sue a radio station for that?  LOL!

They also got a call from a woman who is a part-time cashier at the Home Depot who said that the Home Depot (at least here locally) will be selling roses on Valentine’s Day.  Get the guys coming in for tools or whatever, remind them it’s Valentine’s Day, and offer a solution right there on the spot.

Smart.

rainbow.gif

