rainbow.gif

So, with three business days (counting today) remaining before the start of the Spring semester, here they all come.  In droves they appear, clutching stacks of paper, red ink everywhere, pleading “Can I get this by Thursday so I can send it down for copying?”

Uh.  No.

 There have been no classes since December 14th.  Most of the faculty in the Liberal Arts area don’t give final exams so, December 14th was the last day they had to show up here at the college.  They have 39 days to get their collective shit together before the start of the Spring semester on January 22.  So, because they waited until today to come in, now it’s an emergency?

Uh.  No.

While I’m appreciative of the ones that came in late last week, giving themselves a full week to worry about prepping for their classes, I’m not overly sympathetic to them, either.

One guy, who brought his stuff in on Monday, waits until noon or later before he comes in to check on the progress and retrieve what we’ve completed.  That’s going to bite him (and, ultimately, me) right in the ass today when he comes in and finds that there’s a big problem with one of his larger documents, which prevents me from even starting the job before he can either clarify the confusion, or withdraw the job request.

As I told my boss this morning, and as I repeatedly tell my staff, if we always come through for them at the last minute, they will always wait until the last minute.  I require two business days, at the least, advanced notice.  If they can’t give me two business days, I tell them I can’t guarantee it’ll be done in time for classes and they can either hope it gets done and take their chances here, or they can withdraw the job request and either do it themselves or have someone else do it for them.

“Higher” learning, indeed.  They wouldn’t accept this type of behavior from their students.

rainbow.gif

The copier room is right next to my office — it shares a wall with the side of my desk.  With two copiers running full bore, and two people in there chatting, you can imagine how noisy it is in my office on a day-to-day basis.

I overheard a conversation today.  A female faculty member said she’d just had THIRTY THOUSAND DOLLARS worth of dental work done!

What, pray tell, would cost that much money in someone’s mouth and, at what point is it no longer cost-effective to spend money on teeth?  How in the hell do you PAY for something like that, when a vast majority of dental plans don’t reimburse much more than a thousand dollars or so each year?

I can comprehend a thousand or two for caps, bridges, root canals, something like that but what does one spend THIRTY THOUSAND dollars on?

That would buy a new mid-sized vehicle.  It would pay off MOST of my mortgage.  It’s a year’s salary for some people.  It’s two years’ salary for someone earning minimum wage.

It simply boggles my mind.

rainbow.gif

