A NY Judge struck down a rule that required fast food restaurants to post calorie counts for their foods.

Advocates for the rule cite the fact that obesity is a national problem and that the rule is necessary to combat obesity.

I strongly and stridently disagree.

Personal accountability, folks.

Posting those calories isn’t going to solve the problem.  Anyone who hasn’t been living under a rock for the past 50 years knows that fast food restaurants serve foods that aren’t necessarily the epitome of healthy eating.

Obesity won’t be combated by posting numbers.  It will be fought by educating people, starting in grade school, on proper nutrition.  With the bazillion different diets out there, how is anyone to know, for sure, what’s really and truly a healthy way of eating?

It will also be fought by parents kicking their kids in the ass and getting them away from the television, video games, telephone, and any other activity that allows them to be physical turds day after day after day.

It will be fought by each individual taking some personal accountability by not claiming “it’s a gland problem,” “it’s hormones,” “it’s genetic,” or other such lame excuses.  There are, in reality, only a very small number of people who truly have REAL medical conditions that contribute to their obesity.

My BMI puts me in the “obese” category.

Why am I fat?  Let’s take a look at that.

I smoked for 26 years and, as a result, managed to stay relatively slim.  I quit smoking 9 years ago next week and, in that first month, worked out compulsively and actually lost 8 pounds.  I allowed myself to get de-railed on my workout program and, by the end of that first year of smoking cessation, I had gained 10 lbs.  I weighed 147 lbs.

I stayed at that weight (10 lbs. heavier) for almost two years.  I played volleyball on Tuesday nights in a recreational league and also rode my bike a lot in the spring of 2000.  I was in the midst of a very toxic relationship with a woman who would reel me in, then let me go, then reel me in, then let me go, over and over.  It was making me crazy, and I rode and rode and rode to the point where my thighs were very muscular and as hard as rocks.

Then Lisa came back into my life and the craziness began to lessen.  We were very involved with each other and I stopped riding over the winter (for obvious reasons).  The following spring, I rode again, but not like I had the previous year.  By the end of the first year after Lisa moved in with me, I had gained another 10 lbs.  I weighed 157 lbs.

In March of 2002, I wrecked my knee playing volleyball and spent a few weeks on crutches.  My volleyball days were over, forever.  Without the benefit of even that once weekly exercise, my weight crept up a little bit.  I still drank wine every night and ate my pasta and steaks and crab legs.

By Easter of 2004, I was up to 167 lbs.   My younger daughter’s wedding was planned for August that year and I didn’t want my ex to see how fat I’d gotten, so I began a frantic diet and exercise plan.  I rode my bike 10 miles at a pop and, when the weather was bad, hit the Gazelle Glider for up to a half hour at a time. By June, I had lost 13½ lbs. and was feeling a bit more energetic and was happy with the “mother of the bride” dress that I bought.  It fit me well and flattered me, even though my weight was still in the 150s.  I reasoned that I still had two more months to go before the wedding and that meant I could lose more weight, too.

I got de-railed in July when we went on 2 weeks’ vacation and went to Canada and got married.  I dusted the bike and Gazelle Glider but, for the most part, that was the only attention that equipment got from me.

By October of 2005, I was sitting at 175 lbs.  A nursing instructor at the college introduced the “Walktober” program at the college and I went out and bought a pedometer.  I set myself a goal of 10,000 steps a day.  Within a week, I was hitting 10,000 steps a day, sometimes more.  In six weeks’ time, I had walked off 9½ lbs.

But, I let myself get de-railed by the Thanksgiving holiday and the weight came back with a vengeance, and more.

Today I weigh 178 lbs. and, thankfully, I’m down from 184.5 lbs. that I weighed at the beginning of the month.  BUT.

I’m not exercising consistently.  I’m watching what I eat, but that’s not enough.  I need to move.  I intend, every single day, to get up at lunchtime and walk but I have all kinds of excuses.  None of which are valid.

And, you know what?  I’m not the only person who’s obese for this reason.

I would wager that 9 out of every 10 fat people is fat for the same reasons I am.  Laziness.  Apathy.  Excuses galore.  No effort.  Too many rich/unhealthy foods and not enough exercise.

So, with all that said, does anyone think that posting calories is going to make me slim down?  I have to DO something with that information before it’s effective.  And I have to CARE about that information for it to be effective.

If I’m content to eat Big Macs, drink beer, and watch Pay-per-view all the time, what good are those calorie postings going to do me?

Personal accountability.  That’s what needs to be posted.  A big sign that says “Take some accountability for your actions and make good decisions.”

