Yep, you read that right, I’m melting.  In more ways than one!

First of all, it’s 89 degrees right now.  The record here for this date is 88, set back in 1980.  The humidity stands at only 29%, thankfully, or we’d be in a world of hurt. 

We actually had to sleep with the air conditioner on last night, as the temperature never dipped below 60 outside.  I always sleep so much better when there’s no fan blowing on me and the room is cool enough to sleep so that I don’t wake up drenched in sweat while Lisa freezes her tookas off.

The weekend outlook for our Memorial Day camping trip isn’t really all that bad.  While they’re predicting “scattered thunderstorms” on Sunday, it doesn’t look like the whole weekend is a wash (pardon the pun). 

Saturday
Partly sunny. Much cooler with highs in the upper 60s. Northwest winds 10 mph or less.
Saturday Night
Mostly cloudy. A chance of showers and thunderstorms after midnight. Lows in the mid 50s. Chance of rain 40 percent.
Sunday
Showers and thunderstorms likely. Highs in the lower 70s. Chance of rain 60 percent.
Sunday Night
Cloudy with a chance of showers and thunderstorms. Lows in the lower 50s. Chance of rain 40 percent.
Memorial Day
Mostly cloudy. Highs in the upper 60s.

rainbow.gif

Last night I melted watching the season finale of American Idol.  Jordin’s father cried along with her when she was named the winner — and Lisa and I whooped loud enough that we scared poor Idgie half to death.  The poor thing couldn’t gain purchase on the floor, her little legs going 100 mph and she wasn’t making any forward progress.

Did anyone else notice that, when Clive Davis was speaking, he named Kelly Clarkson, Clay Aiken, Fantasia Barrino, Carrie Underwood and Taylor Hicks…NOT Ruben, even though Ruben performed?

Did anyone else notice that there was no representative from Season 3 on last night’s show?

rainbow.gif

I’m in the process of “weaning” (for lack of a better term) off the Prozac that I’ve been on for two years now.  I’m on a one-day-on-one-day-off dosage of 10 mg. until my pills run out at the end of the month.  Since Tuesday of last week (9 days), I’ve lost 6½ lbs, and I’ve done nothing to lose it.  It turns out, as I researched it yesterday, that Prozac and other SSRIs cause a 15-20 lb. weight gain, over time.  Since I’ve been on it, I’ve gained 17 lbs.  I suppose it’d be asking too much to hope that those 17 lbs. just melt away once I stop taking the meds completely.

Now that the intial 6½ lbs. has melted off, I’m more motivated to do more and keep not only IT off, but some more, too.

rainbow.gif

I’m a bit hot under the collar this week, with students hanging in the doorway of my office, waiting to get into the lecture hall across the hall from my office, to take their final exams.  At one point, they were so loud I didn’t even hear my phone (which sits next to me) ring.  I went out into the hallway and told them they were going to have to keep the noise down.  One little asshole said “And who are YOU?”  I simply replied “I’m just the schmuck who has to calculate your grades.  It’s hard to do that with any kind of accuracy when I get so distracted by noise.”  Didn’t hear a peep out of them again.

rainbow.gif

I let yet another temporary go today.  She couldn’t get here on time, either.  Nor could she fully grasp the concept of only an HOUR for lunch.  Back to the drawing board there, too.

rainbow.gif

One more day of work, then we’re outta here to start off the summer season.

PSYCHE!

