How tall are you barefoot?

5 foot 3 inches.

Have you ever flown first-class?

No 

One of your favorite books when you were a child?

I must have read Heidi a thousand times but I also loved Blue Willow and Beautiful Joe.

A good restaurant in your city?

Hmmm…depends on cuisine.  Excellent Mexican food at San Jose’s.  Wonderful eclectic menu at Edibles.  There’s a bazillion Italian places around here, some franchises, some privately owned (this is a largely Italian community) but we don’t really have a favorite…yet.

What is your favorite small appliance?

Yep, I’m gonna go there…..the coffee grinder

One person who never fails to make you laugh?

Lisa or Joe. 

What was the first music that you ever bought?

Neil Diamond’s ‘Hot August Night’ album

Do you do push-ups?

I used to, back in the day when I was in the Army.  Haven’t done them in probably about 5 or 6 years now…at least not for exercise purposes.

What was one of your favorite games as a child?

Baseball/softball — I couldn’t get enough of it.

When you were twelve years old, what did you want to be when you grew up? A nurse’s aide.

Your favorite Soup of the Day?

Usually New England Clam Chowder, but I love any soup that is creamy.

Have you ever met someone famous?

I had my picture taken atop the Cisco Kid’s horse, while the Cisco Kid stood alongside — I was about 5 then.  We also ran into Emmanuel Lewis in the airport in L.A. and spoke to his mother while he spoke to our kids. 

Date of Birth?

July 23, 1955 

From what news source do you receive the bulk of your news?

Mostly the web.  I read our local news from our local rag and television web sites, and check out national/world news at CNN, Reuters, and MSNBC.  I look for GLBT news at 365gay.com as well as lesbiannation, The Advocate, and Out. 

Current worry?  

My oldest daughter.

Current hate?  

Hypocrites. 

Favorite place to be?

Hanging out at home, knitting or doing something with Lisa. 

Least favorite place to be?

At work. 

Do you consider yourself well organized?

For the most part, no.  However, when it comes to finances, I’m so well organized you could say I’m anal.

Do you believe in an afterlife?

I honestly don’t know.

Where do you think you will be in 10 years?

Retired, collecting my federal retirement and civil service retirement.

Do you burn or tan?

I burn and, as time passes, the red just becomes a sort of deeper red.  I don’t really tan brown, I sort of tan red(dish).  Weird.

Are you more optimistic or pessimistic about the future?

Very optimistic — every day is a chance for everyone to make things right.

What did you fear was going to get you at night as a kid?

My monster wasn’t imagined…

What’s in your pockets right now?

Lint.

Last thing that made you laugh?

Lisa, just this morning, when I said to her “Know what I think?” and her reply was “If I say yes, do you still have to tell me?”

Worst injury you’ve ever had?

While splitting wood during our summer vacation in 2002, the splitting maul glanced off the wood and my pinkie went down the side of the wood, tearing open the flesh along the entire pinkie (down to the bone) and breaking both knuckles.  As a professional typist, this really sucks but, if you’re going to destroy a finger and you type for a living, the right pinkie is the one to destroy.

How many TVs do you own?

Ulp!  We currently have six televisions in our house, not counting the hand-held one, and I have one (an old one) in the office for important news.  A 36″ in the family room, a 35″ in the upstairs living room, a 19″ TV/VCR combo in our bedroom, a 19″ in the family room that Joe uses to watch NFL Network while he plays video games on the 36″, a 13″ in my plant/hobby room, a 13″ in the guest room, and a 13″ that just sort of hangs out as a spare.   

Best compliment received?

I would have to say that the best compliment would be the positive things that people have said about my kids.

What leaves you speechless?

People who use other people for their own entertainment, without any regard to how they hurt others.

What is your favorite book?

The Stand by Stephen King.

Last meal you cooked for the opposite sex?

I’m going to have to take that as meaning my son, since I don’t cook for the opposite sex for any other reason.  That said, the meal would be last night’s dinner which was broiled salmon with Jack Daniel’s glaze, angel hair pasta with parmesan sauce and broccoli florets.

What were you doing at 12 midnight last night?

Sleeping.  Sort of shoots that whole stereotype about homosexuals always having sex, doesn’t it?

